While you are entitled to drive in Illinois, you also need to follow certain rules. The problem is, sometimes the regulations are confusing. You cannot tell the difference between the real and false one. To avoid it, here are three wrong ideas about driving in Illinois, rebutted by Oxford Auto Insurance:
1. You need to be at least 18 years old to drive in Illinois
The state allows those below 18 years old to obtain a teen driver’s license. But it needs to be under a guardian’s name. This person has the authority to cancel the license.
Driving under 18 years old has a lot of limitations. For one, they need to follow the curfew hours. In general, they should not be driving after 11:00 PM on Friday and Saturday nights or 10:00 PM on other days. They can drive again after 6:00 a.m. the following day.
They also cannot fill their cars with minors during the first 12 months or before the driver turns 18 years old. They can have only one passenger below 20 years old.
2. You can have your license revoked because of a DUI
Driving under the influence is a serious offense in Illinois, and the penalties can be tough. It includes the suspension or the revocation of the license. The state, though, does not immediately revoke the license. It all depends on the number of offenses and other variables.
According to the law, a first offense can mean a one-year driver’s license suspension. The person may also spend a year in jail and pay a penalty of no more than $2,500. For those who committed a third offense, they may not have a license within ten years. They may also stay in jail between three and seven years.
People who have bad driving records may need to obtain an SR-22. It is a legal document or certificate that shows your insurance has met the minimum liability limits.
3. Seniors can no longer drive in Illinois
Illinois is open to old drivers, but they need to go through a series of tests. These can include vision, reading, and writing. State laws requires those who are 75 years old and above to renew in person. People who are at least 87 years old should undergo a license renewal each year.
Being granted a new license, though, doesn’t mean it can no longer be revoked. The state accepts investigation requests from police officers and doctors. For example, if the doctor thinks you have conditions that can impair your driving, they need to report it to the Secretary of State.
These rules may be so much to take, but the more you drive and pay attention to the regulations, the easier to understand they will be.